Sign in / Join

10 Indian Actors Who Have Won The Most Number Of National Awards

National Awards are one of the prestigious awards in India.  They are not like Filmfare or IIFA  as they are exclusively determined by business. Whoever can offer the number of magazines or draw most numbers of supporters are given the trophy. National Awards involves people who have contributed to the entertainment industry, be it an actor or director or camera crew. There are they are honoured for their exceptional work in entertainment industry.

We come across many other Tv shows/ awards. Consistently expanding the number of associations and channels are facilitating their own particular awards. In any case, it is an exceptionally uncommon sight to witness somebody from those performing artists and executives to be even considered for The National Award. We should not discuss private awards credibility.

Why are National Awards so prestigious?

Every year, a national panel appointed by the government selects the winning entry, and the award ceremony is held in New Delhi, where the President of India presents the awards. This is followed by the inauguration of the National Film Festival, where the award-winning films are screened for the public. Declared for films produced in the previous year across the country, they hold the distinction of awarding merit to the best of Indian cinema overall, as well as presenting awards for the best films in each region and language of the country.

Via: Source-1

Famous actors like Hrithik Roshan, Vijay, Rajinikanth, Chiranjeevi, Dharmendra, Rajesh Khanna, Dev Anand, Raj Kapoor,  Salman Khan, Shah Rukh Khan, Aamir Khan and numerous more have never been awarded National Award.

People work very hard to get this award. This award is very difficult to acquire, the respect which is just offered by the President of India. Indian film industry produces tons of pictures in more than 20 dialects. However, just a few number of pictures from 7 dialects have won a National Award till now.

Legends like Mammootty and Mohanlal, Amitabh Bachchan and Kamal Hasan, have won the National Awards.

Other regarded popular performing artists like Prakash Raj, have likewise won a various number of National Awards. Mithun Chakraborty and Mammootty have won the National Award for more than one dialects. Mithun won for Hindi and Bengali while Mammootty won for Malayalam and English.

Here is the list of 7 stars who won National Awards:


Om Puri

Veteran Bollywood on-screen character Om Puri passed on January 6th, 2017 of a heart attack. The performing artist, who influenced everybody to chuckle with his comic planning in films like Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron, Malamaal Weekly, Hera Pheri on one hand and left everybody in his wonder with his acting ability in films like Ardh Satya.

Let’s revisit his exceptional role from the movies Arohan (1982)  and Ardh Satya (1984).

Ardh Satya (1984):

Arohan (1982) :

Sanjeev Kumar

Bollywood’s most persuasive performer, Sanjeev Kumar passed away on November 6, 1985. A standout amongst the most well-known stars in the 70s, Kumar was mainstream for breathing life into strange characters. Sanjeev Kumar won National Film Award for Best Actor: He won the award in 1971 for Dastak and 1973 for KoshishSanjeev Kumar was known for his famous parts in the movies like Sholay, Trishul, Shikar, Pati Patni Aur Woh and so forth.

Kamal Haasan

Kamal Haasan is an Indian film actor, who works for the most part in the Tamil film industry. Haasan has won many Indian film awards including three National Film Awards and 19 Filmfare Awards. With seven entries, Kamal Haasan has featured in the most elevated number of movies put together by India for the Best Foreign Language Film Oscar. Haasan’s generation organization, Rajkamal International, has created a few of his movies.  He won National Awards for his three movies; Mondram Pirai, Nayagan and Indian.


Mohanlal has won five national awards for his exhibitions in Telugu film Janatha Garage and Malayalam films Pulimurugan and Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol. The Malayalam genius has risen as the primary Indian on-screen character with most extreme national awards acknowledgement. Mohanlal outperformed the four-national honors records set by amazing on-screen characters Amitabh Bachchan (Bollywood) and Kamal Haasan (Tamil). Mohanlal’s past national award winning movies were Kireedam, Bharatham and Vanaprastham.

Ajay Devgn

Picture Credits: Source-2

Ajay Devgn is a two-time National Award victor winning the honour for his touchy part in ‘Zakhm’ and that of progressive Bhagat Singh in ‘The Legend of Bhagat Singh’.

Naseeruddin Shah

Champ of three National Film Awards and Filmfare grants, the skilled craftsman is a legend with his work in not simply Hindi but rather Bengali, Urdu, Kannada, Tamil and English. He was most recently seen in ‘alright Jaanu’ with Shraddha Kapoor and Aditya Roy Kapoor.

He is dependably observed in effective characters, regardless of whether it is a negative part or some other one. His acting looks in a state of harmony with his character. Shah’s Bollywood debut was a huge hit as he won the National Award for the best film and was additionally named for the Oscar.


Mammootty needs no introduction when it accompanies Malayalam film. A vocation spreading over more than three decades, the doyen of Malayalam silver screen has acted in more than 300 movies including Tamil, Hindi, Telugu, and Kannada. been awarded the National Film Award for Best Actor three times, Kerala State Film Award five times and Filmfare Award eleven times. He was granted the Padma Shri in 1998 for his commitment towards silver screen. Look with the expectation of complimentary some of Mammootty’s honour winning exhibitions.

Amitabh Bachchan

Amitabh Bachchan has won various honours in his vocation, including four National Film Awards as Best Actor and many honours at worldwide film celebrations and award functions. He has won fifteen Filmfare Awards and is the most-assigned entertainer in any significant acting classification at Filmfare, with 41 designations in general.

Mithun Chakraborty

Mithun Chakraborty made his debut in the 1976 Mrinal Sen-coordinated film Mrigaya, for which he won the National Film Award for Best Actor. Who could envision the lead performer of ‘Gunda’ who utilized a bike to shield projectiles, would be a three-time National Award victor. Other than having the undesirable record of conveying most tumbles in a vocation, Mithun Da has 2 Best Actor Awards alongside one Best Supporting Actor award.

Prakash Raj

Prakash Raj, an outstanding performing artist and maker, is a victor of five National Awards. Here is all you have to think about the multilingual performer who has worked in a few dialects. Prakash, as an on-screen character has won a National Film Award for Best Supporting Actor in 1998 for Mani Ratnam’s Iruvar and a National Film Award for Best Actor in 2009 for his part in Kanchivaram, a Tamil movie coordinated by Priyadarshan and as a maker has won a National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Kannada for Puttakkana Highway coordinated by his long-lasting theater companion B. Suresh in 2011.

Leave a reply